ЗОЛОТАЯ МАСКА - ФЕСТИВАЛЬ И ПРЕМИЯ
Juha Jokela

FUNDAMENTALISTS

Meyerhold Centre, Moscow
Участник программы «Russian Case» Фестиваля 2015 года

Director: Lera Surkova

Set design: Ekaterina Dzhagarova


The play of the Finnish playwright Juha Jokela is written in the genre of dispute: the theme of fundamentalism and religious intolerance becomes the basis for a conversation about the responsibility for your ideas, about the right to preaching in the broadest sense of the word.
The plot is grounded on the dispute between Marcus and Heidi: a liberal pastor standing up for the renewal of the Church and a rampant sectarian. Once Marcus offended the young Heidi, and now she appears in front of him as the embodiment of the old guilt. Reason and humanity are on the side of the enlightened pastor, but his victory leads to another catastrophe. Liberating Heidi of sectarian bigotry, he leaves her alone with herself, face to face with the contradictory world.

The focused on a detailed game of two actors, minimalistic performance by Lera Surkova talks about the faces of fundamentalism that sometimes have civilized and even progressive forms, about violence of any messianism, and the responsibility for good intentions.

Anna Banasyukevich





"Two actors scrupulously play out a complicated dialogue of a former priest and his former parishioner who had taken to sectarianism. The play “Fundamentalists" talks about spiritual rivalry and about the extent of rigor that lives in each of the characters regardless of their beliefs: he approaches religion from the point of view of scientific rationality, and she is an earnest fanatic. The play itself, and a meaningful and accurate directing captures the audience from the very start, and then take all along the complicated intellectual debate, turning into a dramatic story about the lost feelings, about responsibility for what is said and done. Our public is not used to follow the delights of a discussion about Scripture, as in general the adventures of ideas on stage. "Fundamentalists" is a happy exception helping the audience to find freedom and get satisfaction from the fact that you are part of a serious yet exciting conversation on the subject that has by now become relevant to ther Russian society. "

Screen and Stage Magazine




"When the actor went up to the pulpit and began his speech, two women spectators decided that they were in a meeting of some religious sect under the guise of a theatre performance. They got so angry that started claiming the money they paid for the tickets. This is how great the power of art is! We are suggested to reflect on those aspects of religious life, which are usually dropped out of sight of believers. For most of them, all questions and problems have been solved, and it remains only to fast, prayand get, enchurched. But why would I do that? What will it give to me personally, how would it change my life? To what extent will it become a part of my personality, and to what extent it will be a mask or a role-playing game? When I say I believe in God, can it be that I have doubts in my own self? Or maybe this is just an abstract mental construction? These are all very relevant questions at a time when we hear more and more often about the "protection of values" and "insulting religious", and less and less frequently - about God and the man. "

Gazeta.ru




"In Russia, nothing like that, it seemed, could not be - to the scene in the room furious monologues metal rebel priest, exposing clericalism and claiming the true religion. Rebellious priest convinces the word of trut

Pavel Rudnev

Пьеса финского драматурга Юхи Йокелы написана в жанре диспута: тема фундаментализма и религиозной нетерпимости становится основой для разговора об ответственности за идею, о праве на проповедничество в самом широком смысле этого слова.

В основе сюжета полемика Маркуса и Хейди: либерального пастора, ратующего за обновление церкви, и ярой сектантки. Когда-то Маркус обидел юную Хейди, теперь она явилась к нему как воплощение старой вины. Разум и гуманизм - на стороне просвещенного пастора, но его победа приводит к очередной катастрофе. Вырвав Хейди из сектантского мракобесия, он оставляет ее наедине с собой, лицом к лицу с полным противоречий миром.

Минималистичный спектакль Леры Сурковой, сосредоточенный на подробной игре двух актеров, рассуждает о гранях фундаментализма, порой принимающего цивилизованные, даже прогрессивные формы, о насилии любого мессианства, об ответственности за благие намерения.

Анна Банасюкевич


«Двое артистов – Валентин Самохин и Елена Нестерова – точнейшим образом разыгрывают сложный диалог экс-священника и его бывшей прихожанки, ударившейся в сектантство. Речь в “Фундаменталистах”, сразу и сильно захвативших публику своим саспенсом, о соперничестве духовном и о мере ригоризма, живущей в каждом из героев, вне зависимости от убеждений: в нем, подходящем к религии с точки зрения научного рацио, и в ней как в истовой фанатичке. Пьеса, и вслед за ней осмысленная и точная режиссура Сурковой, захватив своей острой темпераментностью, двигают зрителя вперед по закоулкам интеллектуального диспута, превращающегося в драматичную историю о потерянных чувствах, об ответственности за сказанное и сделанное. В принципе, нашему зрительскому сообществу скорее чужда привычка следить за изысками дискуссии о Священном писании, как и вообще за приключениями идей на сцене. "Фундаменталисты” – счастливое исключение, помогающее публике обретать свободу и счастливое понимание того, что с тобой разговаривают серьезно и увлекательно на тему, теперь уже актуальную и для российского общества. »

Газета «Экран и сцена»


«Когда актер поднялся на некое подобие кафедры и стал произносить речь, две зрительницы решили, что попали на собрание некоей религиозной секты под видом спектакля, повозмущались и ушли требовать обратно деньги за билеты. Велика сила искусства! Нам предлагают задуматься над теми сторонами религиозной жизни, которые обычно выпадают из поля зрения самих верующих. Для большинства из них все вопросы и проблемы как будто уже решены, осталось только поститься, молиться, воцерковляться. Но зачем? Что это даст лично мне, как изменит мою жизнь? Насколько это станет частью моей личности, а насколько — маской, ролевой игрой? И что вообще я называю верой в Бога — может быть, неуверенность в себе самом? А может быть, абстрактную ментальную конструкцию? Очень уместные вопросы во времена, когда мы все чаще слышим про «защиту ценностей» и «оскорбление чувств», и все реже — про Бога и человека.»

Интернет-издание «Gazeta.ru»


«В России ничего подобного, казалось, быть не может – чтобы со сцены в зал неистовые монологи метал священник-бунтарь, разоблачая клерикализм и утверждая подлинную религиозность. Бунтующий священник убеждает словом истины и страстностью своего отказа от догматики, но проигрывает не менее свирепую любовную схватку, так и не научившись быть добрым пастырем вне церковной кафедры»

Павел Руднев



Юха Йокела

Фундаменталисты

Центр им. Вс. Мейерхольда, Москва
Участник программы «Russian Case» Фестиваля 2015 года

Режиссер: Лера Суркова
Художник: Екатерина Джагарова


Возрастная категория 18+